Tags

, , ,

I’ve been fairly quiet this month because a friend and I have been doing a mini NaNoWriMo, just between ourselves, and now we’re almost halfway though.

NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) takes place every November across The Internet, and the aim is to write a novel (well, 50,000 words, which is a good chunk of a novel) in a month, supported and encouraged by other crazy fools who are doing the same thing.

http://www.nanowrimo.org/

Obviously you can’t write a polished, publishable novel in a month (if you can, can you bottle your secret and sell it on Twitter, please?) but you should, if all goes well, end up with a good, solid first draft to work from.  And Nano novels have gone on to be published – I believe Anne Lyle’s “Alchemist of Souls” (Angry Robot) started life as a Nano novel.

I’ve never done a November Nano, simply because the timing has never been right.  I’ve either been in the middle of a novel, or mired in editing.  So when my friend suggested we both need a kick up the backside, her to get started and me to get finished, it seemed like the obvious thing to do!

I’ve reached the stage now where I’m a little behind, and I need to write 1305 words every day for the rest of April to hit my target of 120k.  Unless by some fortune I manage to finish the book first.  So this afternoon my friend and I are taking our laptops to town, finding a place with sofas and coffee, and making each other write for a few hours.  I’ve never done anything like this before, I tend to be a solo writer, but I’m really looking forward to it.

I’ll let you know how we get on!

