Tags

, ,

News has been coming in today of the terrible shooting spree in a Denver cinema during a midnight opening of “The Dark Knight Rises.”  My thoughts are with all the victims and their families and friends.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-18921492

This strikes close to home.  The world is much smaller than it used to be, and it’s easier to connect with people on other continents.  I know at least half-a-dozen people who live in or hail from Colorado, and my heart goes out to them.  Not least because, being my friends, they are exactly the sort of people who would be excited enough about a new Batman film that they would go to a midnight opening. (Knowing the people I know, they’d probably dress up…)  Hell, I’ve done it myself.  It feels like a blow not just to Colorado, but to movie-lovers and comic book fans everywhere.  A shiver through the heart of the fannish community.

In the past, fandom has stepped up, following the Japanese tsunami and other traumatic events.  If there is to be a collection raised for the victims, I hope fandom will rise to the occasion and show its beautiful sense of community once more.

R. I. P.

