Beginning in 2014, Whippleshield Books will publish a series of themed mini-anthologies, each containing no more than half-a-dozen short stories. The first anthology, Aphrodite Terra, is about Venus, and later ones are likely to be about other planets of the Solar System. They’ve put out a call for subs, and this looks really interesting. Have a look!

Beginning in 2014, Whippleshield Books will publish a series of themed mini-anthologies, each containing no more than half-a-dozen short stories. The first anthology, Aphrodite Terra, is about Venus, and later ones are likely to be about other planets of the Solar System.

I’m looking for short stories of no more than 6000 words set on, or about missions to, Venus. I want literary. I want realism. I want facts that are right. If you think your story is a good fit for Analog, then I don’t want it. If you think you’d have trouble placing your story with a genre magazine, then I might well be interested in it. Try to avoid sf tropes – unless you’re going to deconstruct them, re-engineer them, or use them as very deliberate commentary. But, to be honest, I’m not looking for heartland science fiction.

Venus2

The submission period opens on 1 November…

View original post 64 more words

