RIP Maya Angelou – she had the rare power to change how people look at the world for the better, and she changed me, as a woman, as a human being. Sleep well.

betweenfearandlove

source: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/bio/maya-angelou source: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/bio/maya-angelou

Truth is something that can appear to be quite elusive these days. It’s very easy to find half-truths or outright lies, misconceptions, misunderstandings; they are all sitting at our fingertips. So when I find truths that speak to me, that resonate within me in a way that I know in my core this is truth, I try to pay attention.

Maya Angelou was someone I had heard of in high school. We may have read a poem or two, if so I honestly don’t remember. It wasn’t until college that I took more of an interest in her, and in reality it’s probably because I saw her on Oprah. I have a tendency to cringe when speech is seemingly deliberate. When I can tell someone has thoroughly thought through what they are saying and they say it in a very matter of fact manner. I don’t know why…

View original post 1,090 more words

