Tags

, , , ,

I’m going to be at FantasyCon in York from September 4th-7th (that’s NEXT WEEK – erk!), and this is what I’ll be up to there.

At 2.40pm on Saturday I’ll be doing a reading – possibly from Spark and Carousel, somewhere in the Con hotel. Not sure where yet, but as soon as I find out I’ll let you know!

And then immediately afterwards, at 3pm, I’ll be on this panel :

3.00pm – The Chosen One
From Neo to Barack Obama. Many works of SFF place the fate of the world on the shoulders of a single, pre-ordained hero, who often possesses some magical trait. The panellists discuss ideas and subversions of the One in SFF and beyond. Are there echoes in real world politics? Is the concept stale and regressive, or can it be redeemed by a more diverse range of Chosen Ones in pop culture?
Gillian Redfearn (m), Tom Pollock, James Oswald, Joanne Hall, Frances Hardinge, Helen Marshall

So you might catch me running between reading and panel is a small blur of movement and business, which is the way most people see me anyway 😉

I’m also going to the FantasyCon Banquet in the company of the lovely Pete and Emma Newman, where I might actually be sitting down. Trying to persuade Sammy Smith to take part in the Karaoke too.

You might be able to tell that I’m really looking forward to this, with a certain amount of trepidation!

In between times I will be drifting between panels, readings and THE BAR, looking a bit lost – feel free to say hello if you see me, I’m housetrained and I’m happy to chat but I’m a bit shy, so you might have to say hi to me first 🙂

I might also be tweeting, but not very much as I don’t have Twitter on my phone (need to get that sorted out soon!) My twitter handle is @hierath77 if you want to follow me.

Hope to see some of you there – if you want to catch up with me and you have my number feel free to text, otherwise grab me before my reading and we’ll arrange to meet, or something 🙂

 

 

