Tags

,

This weekend I will be taking part in an ambitious art project, as a radical alternative to playing Skyrim in my pyjamas…

The Sanctum project is taking place in Bristol until November 21st. The project is the brainchild of American artist Theaster Gates, and will see local performers, bands, musicians, poets, writers etc putting on a continuous 552-hour performance in a purpose-build structure in the grounds of the bombed-out Temple Church in Bristol. All performances are free and capacity is limited, so it’s up to you when you want to turn up. And, due to the nature of the project, all timings are most secret. You might arrive to hear performance poetry, throat singing, an indie band playing – who knows?

You can find out more on the Sanctum website.

As all timings are kept secret, I can’t tell you when I will be reading (but I might be able to drop some hints if you send me a private message on Twitter or Facebook, or through the contact button on this here blog). I will be appearing with the North Bristol Writers (on no less than two occasions!) and it looks like it’s going to be quite an experience – I hope you’ll come down and take part!

