Tags

Following recent discussion on Twitter, Pete from Bristol Book Blog asked the question “What ten CD’s would you take to a writing retreat?” (Kicking it old-school, so no iPods full of tunage.)

I said I’d have to give it some thought, and I did. Here’s my top ten albums I’d take on a writing retreat, in no particular order and subject to change without notice.

I listen to a lot of soundtracks and instrumental music while I’m working, and if I do listen to music with words, it’s often music that’s evocative of a certain place or atmosphere I’m trying to create in the book. So there’s that. My top ten favourite albums would probably be quite different.

Princess Mononoke OST – Joe Hisaishi

 Moon OST – Clint Mansell

Bat for Lashes – Two Suns

 Roddy Woomble – My Secret is my Silence

Mogwai – Mogwai Young Team

The Decemberists – The Crane Wife

Nick Drake – Bryter Later

Sigur Ros – Agaetis Byrjun

Elder Scrolls OST – Jeremy Soule

Lord of the Rings OST – Howard Shore (It’s a 3-cd box set, so technically I’m cheating a bit, but this is my list so 😛 )

So there you have it, the ten-ish cds I would pop in my suitcase to take to a writing retreat. What would yours be?

 

