Sophie E Tallis talks through the process of illustrating the map for Juliet McKenna’s “Shadow Histories of the River Kingdom”, which will be on sale at BristolCon – check out her excellent post!

Sophie E Tallis - Author/Illustrator

Maps are a subject I keep returning to again and again and for good reason. Ever since I was a child I’ve held a deep fascination for atlas’s, globes, maps and cartography in general. The mystery of distant countries with exotic names, far flung foreign lands, strange topographic features or intricate maps of fictional worlds have always captivated my imagination and I know I’m not alone in this passion. Maps, particularly when used in fiction, are more popular today than they’ve ever been.

Check out my previous map inspired posts: For the love of maps! & Mapping your fantasy

f27c_thorins_map_from_the_hobbit1

In literary terms, the first map I’m aware of studying was probably E.H. Shepherd’s beautifully illustrated ‘100 Acre Wood’ for A.A. Milne’s glorious Winnie The Pooh, that was quickly followed by the maps in Tolkien’s The Hobbit, Tove Jansson’s wonderful map of Moomin Valley and CS Lewis’s Narnia map.

img_0006-71

As all lovers of good fantasy fiction know, there is…

View original post 1,128 more words

