Tags

, , , , , , ,

2016. It’s been… let’s face it, it’s been pretty horrible for a lot of people. Some very regrettable decisions have been made at a political level, many icons have been lost, and the world feels, at the moment, like 2017 is going to be a dark and scary place. So let’s hold on to the light and think about the good things – the great books that came out this year, the treats lurking in the TBR that will be discovered, the hope that Donald Trump will be impeached by April…

Featured Image -- 4387On a personal level, I had two books out this year, Fight Like A Girl in March (seems a long time ago now!) and The Summer Goddess at the end of September. (They both featured in BrizzleLass’s Best Books of The Year, which was brilliant.) I stepped down as Chair of BristolCon, and Chris and I have sold our house, so now we’re teetering on the brink of a whole new adventure which will bring us equal measures of frustration, fresh veg and a nice Trump-proof bunker to huddle in. Watch this space.

Favourite books of the year, in not particular order (maybe in reading order) were The Silver Tide by Jen Williams, Masks and Shadows by Stephanie Burgis, and The High King’s Vengeance by Steven Poore. Favourite books of this year that weren’t published this year were Kindred by Octavia Butler, Memory of Water by Emmi Itaranta, The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman, and Temeraire by Naomi Novik. Good showing for women in SFF there! 🙂

Talking of women in SFF, I hit my targets for the 2016 Discoverability Challenge and for the Masks and Shadowsnumbers of books I hoped to read this year (64/60). I will update the discoverability challenge over the New Year period – I feel I’m missing some well-renowned female SFF writers that I really should have read, so I’d like to make sure I read some of them this year.

Lurgy and pestilence over Christmas means I’m a little behind where I want to be work-wise, but not so far behind that I can’t catch up, and there are exciting projects on the horizon! Either that or it’s huddling in the cellar eating rats by June, but I’ve read Game of Thrones so I’m mentally-prepared for dungeon-living and rat-eating.

What about you? What authors did you discover this year, and what were your favourite books? And what will you be reading to see you through the End of Days?

Wishing you all a safe and happy new year. All you need is Love. And a 12-bore shotgun, a bunker, and a bucket of rats….

Good luck!

