Tags

, , , ,

First of all, sorry for not blogging in SOOO long! Had a few medical issues with my hands which has restricted my typing ability, so blogging has had to take a bit of a back seat, unfortunately. Looking into getting this fixed though, so fingers (gingerly) crossed!

This weekend is FantasyCon in Chester. I’ll be there but I’m taking a break from doing any panels this year (though now I’m looking at the programme and slightly regretting that choice – I really enjoy doing panels but I didn’t feel like I had enough spoons when the call for panelists went out) So instead I will be hanging around the Grimbold stall, chatting in the bar, maybe a spot of karaoke (?) and generally being sociable – if you see me please come up and say hi, I’m shy but friendly and I rarely eat people these days….

Next weekend (and it’s been a while since I did back to back cons…) is BristolCon – hurrah! I am a Guest of Honour alongside Dave Hutchinson (Europe in Autumn) and artist Andrew Skilleter. Roz Clarke is interviewing me for my guest of honour slot, so if you have any questions please leave them in comments here and I’ll pass them on to her!

I will also be appearing on a couple of panels :

11am Panel Room One – Guest of Honour interview with Roz Clarke – please come if you’re awake (there might be cake!)

1pm Small Group Sessions – Secrets of the Slush Pile (see below!)

4pm – Panel Room 2 – My Favourite Cliche (with Reiley Daniels, Dominic Dulley, Ben Jeapes (m) and Poitr Swietlik)

The full programme can be found on the BristolCon website at this link.

 

For the Small Group Session places are strictly limited – some slots will be held back and made available on the day, but if you want to be sure of getting a place it might be a good idea to sign up in advance. This is a popular workshop – I ran it at Eastercon a couple of years ago and 45 people showed up. In the session I will be tell you some of the ways to help your manuscript escape the dreaded slush pile. You’ll be talking about presentation, cover letters, the dread synopsis, submission guidelines and how to make your manuscript shine! I’ll also tell you some of the things that will get you swiftly rejected and letting you into a few secrets along the way 😉

Hope to see some of you there!